the other night~

snake-plisken

Edmonton is an amazing city.  There are great festivals here and a beautiful river valley that cuts through the city and there’s a lot going on here.

But since the economy has turned south downtown Edmonton has become a bit like the movie Escape From New York.  Sometimes its surreal.  Strange things happen daily if you’re paying attention and I think people are going a bit crazy here.

Like the other night.  It was actually about 5am Saturday and our neighbor was playing his music louder as the night went on.   Full-blast is the word that comes to mind.  And this is a solid building built to last, concrete flooring and walls and the lyrics are still coming through the floor, Mick Jagger singing “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”.

Hey, great song and I’m laughing a bit thinking the universe is sending a reminder that I cannot control my existence.  I relax a bit and go with it.  Things pop up in life and all you can do is make choices.  Everyone is free to make choices which makes for interesting times.  That doesn’t mean we have to agree with someone else’s choices or accept them into you life.

I had been working hard all week working and finishing up my new book and juggling several things.  Looking forward to a good night’s sleep.  Which wasn’t going to happen this night as security had already banged on his door for 5 minutes and talked to the guy but the music was still playing.  And it wasn’t before long there was a Tarzan-like yell coming from the neighbor.

I’m not totally sure it wasn’t all a dream at that point.  I was half expecting to see Kurt Russell at that point.  Montreal was looking even better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reflections

Comments are closed.